Skip to content

Scotland

April 8, 2012

Happy Easter!

Chickens

This week I am in Scotland, staying with my brother and his wife. They have just bought some chickens so it has been quite good fun helping to feed them. Today two of them ate corn from my hand which was very cool.

I made the most of being in Scotland by going to a whiskey distillery. We had a tour the Glenfiddich site. It was really interesting, especially as it was a lot more similar to beer brewing than I had expected. I am currently working on a bread using whiskey as I think that could be really interesting.

Glenfiddich

I also discovered that I have my own clan and tartan. Very cool.

My clan and tartan

In honour of Easter I obviously had to make some hot cross buns but since my sister in law doesn’t like dried fruit I made them with chocolate chips and fruit peel instead. They were really tasty, they could possibly do with a few tweaks but that shouldn’t be too hard.

Hot cross buns

This week has been quite a nice holiday for me, so I haven’t made all that much. But I was put in charge of dessert the other day and whipped up a mango filo tart. It had mascarpone mixed with mango puree at the bottom and then grilled mango on top. It was really nice, very easy to do and quite light. I’ll definitely be making it again.

Mango (daffodil) tartlets

Quite a short post this week I’m afraid, but I should have some more to show you next week as I am planning on getting a bit creative with some of the ideas that have been sparked by this trip.

Goodbye from Scotland

No comments yet

Leave a comment